Go to text Go to menu



The Gyeonggido Assembly comprises a total of 142 elected members (128 district representatives, 13 proportional representatives) whose term of office is four years (Jul. 1, 2018 – Jun. 30, 2022). The assembly holds plenary sessions with the Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen as its central figures, as well as meetings of the standing and special committees.

Chairman and Vice-Chairman

One Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen are elected through secret ballot, and their term of office is two years. The Chairman represents the assembly and conducts its affairs, while Vice-Chairmen serve as acting chair in the absence of the Chairman.

Standing Committees

A total of 12 standing committees operate as permanent bodies for professional and efficient evaluation of bills. All members of the assembly, with the exception of the Chairman, belong to a standing committee, and their term of office is two years.

Special Committees

A special committee can be established temporarily upon a decision at a plenary session to screen specific bills, such as a bill that is under the jurisdiction of several standing committees. Special committees include the Special Committee on Budget and Accounts as well as the Special Committee on Ethics. The term of office for members of special committees is the same as that of the special committee.

Negotiation Groups

Negotiation groups serve as a window for negotiation with political parties in order to integrate and conciliate in advance the opinions of assembly members who belong to a certain political party or group.  A political party with more than 12 assembly members can form a parliamentary group, while members who do not belong to the parliamentary group can separately form technical groups composed of  more than 12 members.

Organization Chart


  • Vice-Chairman
  • Vice-Chairman
  • Negotiation Groups

    • Democratic Party of Korea
  • Standing Committees

    • Assembly Operations
    • Planning and Finance
    • Economy and Labor
    • Security and Public Administration
    • Culture, Sports and Tourism
    • Agricultural and Administration 
    • Health and Welfare
    • Construction and Transportation
    • Urban Environment
    • Women, Family and Lifelong Education
    • Education Planning
    • Educational Administration
  • Special Committees

    • Budget and Accounts
    • Ethics